Hangout Today – Harnessing the Sun

Link: Hangout Today – Harnessing the Sun

Dr. Eunsoo Kim and Dr. Rob DeSalle will show you the location of the American Museum of Natural History’s cutting-edge electron microscope lab, as they ask the intriguing question: How did life on Earth develop the ability to harness the power of the Sun?

Sign up on the Event Page, post your questions for Dr. Kim and Dr. DeSalle, and Hangout On Air with the American Museum of Natural History!

http://goo.gl/znjZb

Friday, 21 June, 2013 10:00AM PT / 12:00PM CT / 1:00PM ET / 1700 UK / 1800 GMT / 1900 CET

Dr. Eunsoo Kim Assistant is Curator in the Division of Invertebrate Zoology – Invertebrate Zoology at the AMNH. Her research focuses on the evolution and ecology of single-celled eukaryotic flagellates. Her long-term research goals are the investigation of: the diversity and genomics of those modern-day microbial eukaryotes that are keys to understanding the early evolution of eukaryotic life; symbiosis as a driver of evolutionary innovation; and the origin and evolution of plastids (chloroplasts).